EXCLUSIVE: Interview with Miss Fame from RuPaul’s Drag Race 7

By B.Michael Peterson

The seventh season of RuPaul’s Drag Race is literally around the corner – can you feel the buzz of the anticipation of this season FINALLY airing? Hold tight ladies and gents, first we must dive into some premiere parties, which are happening next week in Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Chicago and New York City. NQB will be attending the press party and the premiere show in Los Angeles at the Mayan Theater to speaks and photograph the season six queens.

We are hosting our relaunch party on February 20th – that’s next Friday readers! Are you coming? Check out the event invite here on Facebook. It is our Leather and Lipsticks party hosted by Cherry Markos and Minerva Markos at Re-Bar. Doors open at 10:30pm and we have a stellar lineup of entertainers and a “Leather and Lipsticks” contest to win a sickening prize from a local business that you will be begging for.

Our third and final pre-season interview for RuPaul’s Drag Race is the beautiful and talented Miss Fame from New York City.

Photo Credit: Juliana Robin Photography. Wig Design by Bobby Pinz. Makeup by Miss Fame. Location: São Paolo
Photo Credit: Juliana Robin Photography. Wig Design by Bobby Pinz. Makeup by Miss Fame. Location: São Paulo.

B.Michael Peterson: Condragulations, Miss Fame! Welcome to the family of RuPaul’s Drag Race.

Miss Fame: Thank you for the warm welcome!

B.Michael Peterson: What is your favorite cocktail or drink?

Miss Fame: My favorite drink is a Shirley Temple. The last thing I would like to happen is being seen falling down the stairs drunk at a club.

B.Michael Peterson: Describe your first experience in drag.

Miss Fame: My first experience in drag. I don’t remember the first time, I feel like I had many first times in drag. I was 19 years old and I participated in an amateur drag night at the local bar “Tortilla Flats”. I wore a black bob, red lipstick, fish nets and converse high tops. I obviously was edgy. I ended up winning that night, from the local Queen of Queens who happened to have a prosthetic leg. I was feeling my fantasy that night. To which I continued the drag journey every few months for friends parties but never really called myself a Queen.

B.Michael Peterson: What made you continue practicing and evolving into your drag character today?

Miss Fame: What made me continue to practice and evolve my drag character. When I was in Sacramento, before moving to New York, I started to perform at a few social functions for charity. I had one blonde wig and still no pads but came up with the name Fame at that time. I felt that I could be better, that I could learn more about my look and find my character. It wasn’t till I moved to NYC where I went out and saw Queens of New York City. The girls looked good and my androgynous half-drag wasn’t to the level I wanted it to be. The other Queens were kind to me and had mentioned that if I got into the full fantasy I would be dangerous. I didn’t realize to what magnitude. I ended up starting in fashion drag, working as a model, doing my own looks. Then designers started to dress me for performances, shoots and shows. It was not often but it was evolving. i would study the supermodels of the 90’s, Linda Evangelista is still my fashion icon as well as the golden ages of Hollywood including icons like Marilyn Monroe and Marlena Dietrich. I have always been obsessed with perfection and the detail of a polished woman. So I never quite working on perfecting my craft. I am addicted to beauty.

Miss Fame produces and hosts her own makeup tutorials on YouTube. Check her out! Photo courtesy of Miss Fame. www.MissFameNYC.com
Miss Fame produces and hosts her own makeup tutorials on YouTube. Check her out! Photo courtesy of Miss Fame. http://www.MissFameNYC.com

B.Michael Peterson: It’s four o’clcok in the morning and as you’re de-dragging, what are you eating?

Miss Fame: What do I eat at 4 am, when I finally can eat. I took the rule of not being seen eating in drag into account after reading RuPauls book “Workin’ it!”. I don’t think its glamorous to be seen in a gorgeous gown and perfectly detailed hair and face paint, devouring a burger and fries. But I do eat, and it is always after the drag comes off. My husband usually prepares pasta or a grilled cheese sandwich. I am always starving after a night in drag. lol!

B.Michael Peterson: Has your perspective on drag changed from before and after filming this season?

Miss Fame: Has my perspective changes before and after this season. Yes it has! I am realizing that this is a huge platform and opportunity to share my passion with the world. Before I was so eager to be seen and wanted to have a chance and validation of RPDR and especially Ru. I have so much respect for the history of what was done before and during my drag career by RuPaul. I also feel a pressure to maintain the highest level of myself for my supporters and for the network. I am not doing this alone is what it feels like, I am doing this for everyone who ever wanted to live a dream. My drag is just a vessel and expression of how colorful you can live your life.

B.Michael Peterson: What has been the strangest and bizarre request from a fan on Facebook or Twitter?

Miss Fame: The strangest or bizarre request from a fan… I get these men who want to dress me in latex. I love latex so I guess I’m strange in return… It’s a win win really.

B.Michael Peterson: What international destination do you have listed on your bucket list to travel to and perform?

Miss Fame: What are my international destinations… I would really like to go exotic destinations. The Philippines and Thailand. Colombia would be great too because my blood grandma was from Colombia and Denmark because my grandfather was Danish. But really anywhere I can be inspiring and uplifting to our community to be true to themselves.

Miss Fame. Photo by Marcelo Cantu Photography.
Miss Fame. Photo by Marcelo Cantu Photography.

B.Michael Peterson: Who is your bestie from season seven?

Miss Fame: My besties from my season, I guess we will be watching our relationships unfold on the show. I do keep in contact with a majority of the girls and have done a few shows with them too.  I can’t wait to tour with the Queens and get caught up on our journey forward.

B.Michael Peterson: Out of drag, what are your hobbies and likes?

Miss Fame: Out of drag, I love makeup and transforming others into beautiful pieces of art. I like making people feel gorgeous. Travel is a love of mine. I grew up watching National Geographic with my grandpa and he inspired me to see the world. I have never lost that desire and in these recent years I have been blessed to travel more frequently. In part due to my husband being from Switzerland, so every holiday we go abroad. My simple satisfaction is watching a new movie in a theater, it makes me feel like a kid again, Red wines all the way. Or if the winter weather keeps me in, I enjoy drawing. Art has always been a release for my active imagination.

B.Michael Peterson: Finally, what is the theme song for your drag persona?

Miss Fame: haha! I don’t know why but the song that keeps playing in my head is Corona – Rhythm of the Night. 1993… I was old enough to enjoy the music and remember it but not old enough to enjoy it at the club. For some reason, I can remember so many of the hits from the 90’s, I guess my brain was still intact during my developmental stages. lol!

RuPaul’s Drag Race airs March 2nd on LogoTV and don’t forget to check out your local viewing parties. We will be photographing the Los Angeles premiere next week and will be showcasing the photos at our launch party at Re-Bar on February 20th, hosted Cherry Markos and Minerva Markos, with DJ Dirty Bit, Kaleena Markos, James Majesty and Isaac Scott. RSVP to our launch party today and tune into LogoTV on March 2nd to catch the first episode of season seven.


One thought on “EXCLUSIVE: Interview with Miss Fame from RuPaul’s Drag Race 7

Leave a comment